J. E. Reeves Victorian Home

Return to the elegance of the late 19th century by visiting the J. E. Reeves Victorian Home and its adjoining Carriage House Museum, located in Dover. This opulent mansion, the former residence of prominent Dover industrialist, Jeremiah E. Reeves, is owned by the Dover Historical Society.

The 17-room, Victorian home, topped by a third floor ballroom, has been carefully restored by the Society to its original turn-of -the-century splendor and features the unique treasures of the original furniture and antiques that were the property of Mr. and Mrs. Jeremiah E. Reeves, arranged as they would have been 100 years ago. These beautiful family furnishings can be viewed up close, as there are no ropes or barriers prohibiting entrance into the rooms.

The Carriage House Museum, located behind the home, contains an interesting collection of vehicles– the family’s handsome, horse-drawn carriage, along with the family sleigh, a rare electric car, and a newly restored doctor’s buggy. The upstairs of the Carriage House features a new exhibit, Canal Dover: Life in Nineteenth Century Tuscarawas County, with a focus on Dover’s rich history as a canal town. Featuring historic photos, interesting anecdotes, and museum artifacts, this exhibit takes the visitor on a tour of Dover’s past from its founding in 1807 through the flood of 1913.

For more information go to http://www.doverhistory.org/